Jo’s Book Review – Wing Jones By Katherine Webber

18443436_1423143037743019_3315196264060026880_n
“The clouds have risen, out of my reach, but now I can see the stars and they wink down at me like they’re saying “You go, girl” and I tilt my head back and smile up at them, and I hope that from way up there my smile looks like a bright shiny star winking back at them.”
― Katherine Webber, Wing Jones
Originally published: January 2017

Page count: 384 pages

Publisher: Walker Books

A sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing’s speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.


Wing Jones by  Katherine Webber is a beautiful story about family, love and the most important, growing up in the face of adversities.

Wing Jones is a very adorable character. After spending her whole life in the shadows of her brother, when faced with troubles, she does not cower. She raises up and grows. Her character development is just gorgeous. She started off as a weak girl who cant even stand up for herself, to someone whom the world looks to with amazement. She is indeed one of the most alluring characters I have read till now.

I found side characters to be equally charming. Her family, especially her grandmothers were a delight to read. I absolutely loved reading their bickering in the book. Her friends, her brother and his girlfriend and her crush were all fantastic characters. I loved every character to the fullest. Webber has done a fantastic job at weaving the characters and their stories. Everyone feels real.

The best aspect of the book is diversity. Majority of the characters in the story are black. Wing is half Chinese and half Ghanese. Her body type isn’t like a typical YA girl. Also their is a LGBTQ+ side character and author didn’t make a huge deal about it. I liked that.

The ambiance of the book is very warm and cosy. Its like warm inside of a oven in which cookies were baked. Its warm, sweet and relaxed. The writing style is wonderful. and very articulate. The book made me smile a lot.

Overall It is a fantastic book and I would recommend it to everyone.

Rating- 5/5


“But my happiness is a squishy kind of happiness, squeezing itself in where it can fit, pushing around all the sadness and the stress and the pressure, finding any empty spot, any crevice, and filling it. Don’t mind me, it says. I won’t bother anyone. I know this is a room for sadness, but I just need a little corner. I try to kick it out, because it isn’t welcome here, it didn’t even come wearing black, but it won’t go. It’s a stubborn guest. One that I secretly want to stay.”
― Katherine Webber, Wing Jones


2 thoughts on “Jo’s Book Review – Wing Jones By Katherine Webber”

Leave a Reply

