Jo’s Book Review – Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) By Sylvain Neuvel

 

Image result for Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel
“Stories are there to entertain, preserve history, or serve a societal purpose of some kind.”
― Sylvain Neuvel, Sleeping Giants
.
Originally published: April 26th 2016
Author:  Sylvain Neuvel
Page count: 304
Publisher: Penguin 
Genres: Science Fiction, Adult fiction
.
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power

.
I had very high expectations with sleeping giants and it squashed them all. I was not greatly disappointed because I’d great expectations but because it just wasn’t good. I almost DNFed it many times but I wanted to complete it so that I could write a proper review and people were raving about the great twist at the end.( The twist made me curious,not surprised)
.
The biggest issue I had with the book was the unique format it followed. Basically the whole book is written in the form of interviews, reports and personal journal. I really liked the format till 4/5 chapters, after which I got really frustrated. I just could not form emotional  connection with any of the characters. I didn’t feel anything when anyone of them was hurt. The format, instead of becoming its strength, ended up becoming a huge flaw. Also the story line, in spite of sounding so promising, bored me at some points. I was so irritated!   
.
The positive point of the book was the mystery. I was curious about so many questions, throughout the 300 pages. Because the authors didn’t answer many of the questions, I’m interested in reading its sequel, Waking Gods but I don’t want to go through the torture again! I’ll read its detailed review perhaps.
.

Rating – 2/5
“It would make things easier for both of us, especially for you, if we could forgo the part of this conversation where you take me for a complete idiot…”
― Sylvain Neuvel, Sleeping Giants

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s