Jo’s Book Review – Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini

26064760

Title: Trial by Fire

Author:  Josephine Angelini

Publication Date: September 2nd 2014

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

 Part of a Series?: Yes, Book one of ‘Worldwalker’ series.

Genres: Young adult, Fantasy, Romance

.

2

Love burns. Worlds collide. Magic reigns.

This world is trying to kill Lily Proctor. Her life-threatening allergies keep her from enjoying many of the experiences that other teenagers take for granted…which is why she is determined to enjoy her first (and perhaps only) high-school party. But Lily’s life never goes according to plan, and after a humiliating incident in front of half her graduating class Lily wishes she could just disappear.

Suddenly Lily is in a different Salem – one overrun with horrifying creatures and ruled by powerful women called Crucibles. Strongest and cruellest of all the Crucibles is Lillian . . . Lily’s identical other self in this alternate universe. This new version of her world is terrifyingly sensual, and Lily is soon overwhelmed by new experiences.

Lily realizes that what makes her weak at home is exactly what makes her extraordinary in New Salem. It also puts her life in danger. Thrown into a world she doesn’t understand, Lily is torn between responsibilities she can’t hope to shoulder alone, and a love she never expected.

But how can Lily be the saviour of this world when she is literally her own worst enemy?

2

Rating 3/5

I randomly picked this book up for 100 rupees (approx 1.5$) from book fair. As you can guess it was a pure ‘cover buy’ as I really was very intrigued by the beautiful colors and the line ‘I am a witch and witches burn’ on the cover (I thought it was the title of the book)(It is not. It is Trial by Fire).

Characters

I hated majority of the characters in the book. I hated lily, the main character. I swear she is the most annoying girl in young adult genre. She suffers from ‘I-am-ugly-but-every-freaking-hot-boy-falls-in-love-with-me’ syndrome. She takes annoying decisions, is I-am-powerful-but-actually-I-am-not-and need-saving, thinks that love is the end of live and getting into her best friend aka crush aka love of the life’s pants is everything! She is my least favourite character in the book. The love interest dude 1 and dude 2 are both unlikable. The dude from the alternate world is so flat and clichéd, I didn’t care about him at all. I mean, I have another 10000000 characters like him in Young adult. Why should I care about him? Other side characters were just there. Except for one or two, I didn’t pay attention to any.

Setting

I have mixed feelings for the world building. While it is super confusing, it is innovative as well. It is a mixture of medieval and new. Both, science and magic exist in the alternative reality. The parallel Salem felt interesting to me. I would be interested in reading more of it.

Plot

I actually liked the plot, in spite of annoying characters. While the pace was pretty fast and exciting, the twists and turns were quite unexpected. The author left many loose ends, leaving the reader curious about the next book. I have many questions!

Romance

 I didn’t care for the romance. It was flat, boring and annoying.

Final verdict

The book could have been better but the characters, especially Lily, killed it. I am really hoping for some character development in the next book.

“There comes a day when every girl loses the stars in her eyes. And then she can see clearly.” 
― Josephine Angelini, Trial by Fire

About the Author (1)

Have you read any book where the main character killed it, in spite of having a nice plot? I would love to know!

1

 

Leave a Reply

