Jo’s Book Review – The Host by Stephenie Meyer

1656001

Title: The Host

Author:  Stephenie Meyer

Publication Date:  6 May 2008

Publisher:  Little, Brown and Company

Part of a Series?: Book 1 of ‘the host’ series. Book 2 and Book 3 are yet to release.

Genres: Science Fiction, Romance, Thriller, Dystopia

 

 

 

2

Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. The earth has been invaded by a species that take over the minds of human hosts while leaving their bodies intact. Wanderer, the invading “soul” who has been given Melanie’s body, didn’t expect to find its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.

As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who still lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Reluctant allies, Wanderer and Melanie set off to search for the man they both love.

2

 

Rating- 4/5

Originally I didn’t plan to read it. Reason being, I didn’t like Twilight at all. (I have read first two books in the series) But I decided to give it a try because A) I like Stephenie Meyer’s writing style B) My friend raved about it, A LOT! and C) I was in 9th grade. Therefore I picked it up from the school library and READ IT IN A SINGLE SCHOOL WEEKAND ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!

I am a fan of  Meyer’s writing style. I wasn’t a huge fan of twilight but I loved the writing and the emotions it evoked. Meyer’s prose is lyrical, emotionally charged and GORGEOUS! For me, the writing was the main focus of the book.

How well did like you The host?
I liked it a lot
•
•
Life is so busy again. I think the reason is my constant procrastination 😂
•
•
#biblio #bibliophile #book #books #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #indianbookstagrammer #bookish #bookism #book📖 #reader #readers #bookquote #bookchallenge #bookstagramfeatures #bookishfeatures #candle #bookishcandle #bookmarks #bookstack #bookrainbow #colorfulbooks #whitetheme #bookreview #bookblog #wordpress #bookreviewblog

“As I took another breath, I saw the three stars again. They were not calling to me; they were letting me go, leaving me to the black universe I had wandered for so many lifetimes. I drifted into the black, and it got brighter and brighter. It wasn’t black at all – it was blue. Warm, vibrant, brilliant blue…I floated into it with no fear at all.”  

 

Your favourite fantasy book?
•
I've been so busy lately with assignments and farewells and everything. Phew
•
•
• • •  #biblio #bibliophile #book 
#books #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #indianbookstagrammer #bookish #bookism #book📖 #reader #readers #bookquote #bookchallenge #bookstagramfeatures #bookishfeatures #candle #bookishcandle #bookmarks #bookstack #bookrainbow #colorfulbooks #whitetheme #bookreview #bookblog #wordpress #bookreviewblog

 

“It’s not the face, but the expressions on it.
It’s not the voice, but what you say.
It’s not how you look in that body, but the thing you do with it.
You are beautiful.”

 

 

As a 9th grader, I loved the romance. I loved the interaction between both the main couples. Specially, the development between Wanderer and Ian was my absolute favourite. NOW I can say that while the romance is excessively cheesy and sweet, it is lot better than Twilight and I still love Wanda and Ian.

Plot wise, I liked the idea of Alien invasion and taking over human bodies. While it is not very innovative, infusing romance in it and focusing on Mel and Wanderer looking for the love interest made it very interesting. Also the characters are very likable. I felt very deeply connected with characters and their complexities and stories. AND I really liked Wanda!

Final verdict

The Host is an excellent read and you should give it a try even if you didn’t like the Twilight series.

“You and I won’t lose each other, I will always find you again. No matter how well you hide. I’m unstoppable.”  ― Stephenie Meyer, The Host

Leave a Reply

