Jo’s Book review – Switched by Amanda Hocking 

12133821

Title: Switched

Author: Amanda Hocking

Publication Date: January 3rd 2012

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Part of a Series?: Yes, Book 1 of ‘Trylle’ series

Genres:  Young Adult, Fantasy,  Paranormal Romance

2
When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn’t until eleven years later that Wendy discovers her mother might have been right.

With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed – a world both beautiful and frightening, and Wendy’s not sure she wants to be a part of it.

2
.
Rating – 2/5
.
.
“Wendy: Why are you staring at me?
Finn: Because you’re standing in front of me.” 
.
.
.
So Switched is another of your usual paranormal romance where the girl sees a-hot-guy-who-is-super-rude-to-her in school, is attracted to him because he is hot (who gives a shit if he is super rude and is stalkerish), gets to know that they are some magical beings, is whisked away to a world of ballgowns, princess and forbidden love.
.
.
.
“You check on me when I’m sleeping?” I gaped at him. “Every morning?”
He nodded.
“I didn’t know that.”
“Why would you know that? You’re sleeping,” Finn pointed out.” 
.
.
.
Characters
.
.
The characters are under developed, flat-as-board and boring. There is no freaking development in Wendy or Finn’s character. Wendy is again your typical, boring YA girl whose life sucks, has no friends, absent parents, is unable to fit into the society AND doesn’t know THAT SHE IS GOD DAMN BEAUTIFUL! Can we for once have interesting female characters who don’t act like damsel in distress and have some common sense?
.
.
Writing
.
Hocking’s writing is very simple to read and understand. Its nothing remarkable. Its a pretty light read actually.
.
.
Romance
.
Romance is shallow and there is no development. Wendy meets Finn, finds him creepy, fast forward to few weeks later and BOOM she is so in love and ready to give her soul and heart for the hot dude AND trust me there was nothing epic that happened for such a nice i-will-die-for-you to happen. The development took place like this-
.
.
“Finn: I look at you because I can’t look away Wendy.
Wendy: That’s kinda creepy.
Finn: I will work on being less creepy then.” 
.
.
“I had called him out on being creepy, justifiably so, and it didn’t faze him at all. He didn’t stammer an apology or flush with shame and regret. He just kept looking at me evenly. Most likely, he was a damn sociopath, and for whatever reason, I found that endearing.” 
.
.
“He hadn’t been peeping intentionally; he’d been trying to sneak into my room. So that was slightly less creepy, I supposed.” 
.
.
“I look at you because I can’t look away.” 
.
“He kissed me desperately, like a drowning man and I was his oxygen.”
.
.
“How had it turned into this? I had lived my whole stupid life without him, and now I could barely make it through the hour.” 
.
.
.
Plot and world building
.
Well, both the things are average. Plot is not-so-original but not awful. Its decent. World building is also average and a tad bit interesting with trolls being presented lot differently than they usually are.
.
.
Final verdict- I won’t recommend this book but if you want to read something brain-less and super light, you can give it a try.
1
“I look at you because I can’t look away.” 
― Amanda Hocking, Switched
Leave a Reply

